English 833: Theories of Composition — Course Schedule (Fall 2019)

Week 1: Should First Year Composition (FYC) be required?
Aug. 26 Monday

  • The Beginning of the Journey
  • The Abolitionist Movement

Week 2: Labor Day Holiday
Sep. 2 Monday

  • NO CLASS MEETING

Week 3: Expressivism/Writing Process Theory
Sep. 9 Monday

  • Discuss freewriting

Week 4: A Vision for Teaching Composition
Sep. 16 Monday

  • Begin Teacher Scholar web site
  • Create a Composition Teaching Vision Statement

Week 5: The History of Composition Studies I (Historical Accounts)
Sep. 23 Monday

Week 6: Cognitivism
Sep. 30 Monday

Week 7: Holistic Embodied Writing
Oct. 7 Monday

  • Guest Lecture
  • Discuss embodied writing and memory

Week 8: Poetry Writing
Oct. 14 Monday

  • Write a poem

Week 9: Literacy Stories
Oct. 21 Monday

  • Early literacy experiences
  • Writing your Teacher Story
  • Discuss “Writing Stories in College” by Gian Pagnucci

Week 10: Social Constructionism
Oct. 28 Monday

Week 11: Post-Process Theory
Nov. 4 Monday

Week 12: Finding Forrester
Nov. 11 Monday

  • View film Finding Forrester
  • Bring food to share

Nov. 15 Friday

  • Your Theory of Teaching First DRAFT DUE
    • Your draft may be short (just a few pages) or complete (the full length), whatever suits your needs as a writer best
  • Send your paper to Dr. Pagnucci (<pagnucci@iup.edu>) via email by 4 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 15
    • Label your email with Subject: 833 Theory Paper

Week 13: Paper Conferences
Nov. 18 Monday

Week 14: Thanksgiving Holiday
November 25 Tuesday

  • Holiday
  • No Class Meeting

Week 15: Can Composition Save the World?
Dec. 2 Monday

Week 16: Your Teacher Scholar Journey
Dec. 9 Monday

  • The End of this Course Journey (but not the end of the journey)
  • Class Celebration
  • Writing Your Future

Week 17: Your Teacher Scholar Website DUE
Dec. 13 Friday

  • NO CLASS Meeting
  • Your Teacher Scholar Website DUE

If Only We Had More Time 🙁

Comic Book Pedagogy

Language Theory

  • Discuss Mikhail Bakhtin
  • Discuss Lev Vygotsky