English 833: Theories of Composition — Course Schedule (Summer 2019)

Week 1
Day 1: Should First Year Composition (FYC) be required?
May 28 Tuesday

  • The Beginning of the Journey
  • The Abolitionist Movement

Day 2: Expressivism/Writing Process Theory
May 29 Wednesday

  • Discuss freewriting

Day 3: A Vision for Teaching Composition
May 30 Thursday

  • Begin Teacher Scholar web site
  • Create a Composition Teaching Vision Statement

Week 2
Day 4: The History of Composition Studies I (Historical Accounts)
June 3 Monday

Day 5: Holistic Embodied Writing
June 6 Tuesday

  • Guest Lecture
  • Discuss embodied writing and memory

Day 6: Cognitivism
June 5 Wednesday

  • Discuss models of the mental process that writers use

Day 7: Literacy Stories
June 6 Thursday

  • Early literacy experiences
  • Writing your Teacher Story
  • Discuss “Writing Stories in College” by Gian Pagnucci

Week 3
Day 8: Social Constructionism
June 10 Monday

Day 9: Language Theory
June 11 Tuesday

  • Discuss Mikhail Bakhtin
  • Discuss Lev Vygotsky

Day 10: Finding Forrester
June 12 Wednesday

  • View film

Day 11: Post-Process Theory
June 13 Thursday

  • Discuss how writing is public, situated, and interpretive

Week 4
Day 12: Poetry Writing
June 17 Monday

Day 13: Comic Book Pedagogy
June 18 Tuesday

Day 14: Can Composition Save the World?
June 19 Wednesday

Day 15: Your Teacher Scholar Journey
June 20 Thursday

  • The End of this Course Journey (but not the end of the journey)
  • Class Celebration
  • Writing Your Future

Day 16: Your Teacher Scholar Website DUE
June 26 Wednesday

  • NO CLASS Meeting
  • Your Teacher Scholar Website DUE